Christian Checklist: How to Raise the Perfect Child

Checklist on How to Raise a Perfect Child

1. From the moment of conception: Never raise your voice in anger, think bad thoughts, talk behind people’s back, etc. because the baby will know.

2. From the moment they are born: Immediately start character training. They are being selfish and crying too much, give them a time-out. A 2-day old should know that it is not appropriate to cry to get everything they want. Say “use your words” to them.

3. From the moment they get home from the hospital: Make sure their bedroom is climate controlled to the optimum temperature, hang at least 3 pictures of Jesus with children on their walls, every book on their shelf needs to “Christian” (Dr. Seuss, P.D. Eastman, Shel Silverstein, etc will make your child too dreamy, too creative, and too worldly so don’t fill their minds with them).

4. From the moment they begin to talk: Teach them to say “Please, thank you, excuse me, etc.” These need to be taught before mama and dada.

I hope you’ve made it down this far in the post to know that I am being extremely sarcastic. Obviously, I am joking and by the title of this post you should guess that the statement is a complete ruse. The sad truth is that most of us as parents still try to attain this “perfect child” from among our broad of miscreants. We look over our children and can definitely rule-out certain ones from ever holding that title. My oldest, the one that hit his brother in the face with the bat last week, ummm no. The youngest, the one that thinks time-outs are funny and smiles the whole time, ummm not him either. But maybe if discipline them, structure them, mold them, shape them, feed them the proper diet, give them adequate sleep, read them enough stories, then they will be good children. The problem isn’t following steps A through Z to make your kids turn out right. They are not a lamp to be assembled in the proper order otherwise the light doesn’t turn on. The problem is that they are sinners. As discouraging as it can be when you tell a child something 10 times and they still choose the wrong path, they are genetically, spiritually, down-to-their core–sinners. Not to discourage you further, but look at the parents of the Bible.

Hebrews 11 (I read somewhere it could be referred to as the Hall of Faith)

1. Samuel (Heb 11:32)- a faithful follower of God.

Sam’s kids: 1 Samuel 8: 3 Yet his sons did not walk in his ways but turned aside after gain. They took bribes and perverted justice.

2. David  (Acts 13:22) “And when he had removed him, he raised up David to be their king, of whom he testified and said,‘I have found in David the son of Jesse a man after my heart, who will do all my will.’”

David’s son: 1 Kings 11:9 “And the Lord was angry with Solomon, because his heart had turned away from the Lord…”

3. Noah (Heb. 11:7) “heir of righteousness…”

Noah’s son: Ham (Genesis 9: 24) “When Noah awoke from his wine and knew what his youngest son had done to him, he said ‘Cursed be Canaan; a servant shall he be to his brothers.'”

So the Hall of Faith fathers had children that went astray. Not just went astray, but “turned away”. Man, I am in deep water without a life- jacket. I haven’t been a faithful prophet of God, a faithful king, or built a crazy huge boat. My name wasn’t written in Hebrews 11. These fathers of faith had some pretty imperfect kin.

My hope rests in kids like Timothy. (Acts 16: 1-2) “Paul came also to Derbe and to Lystra. A disciple was there, named Timothy, the son of a Jewish woman who was a believer, but his father was a Greek. He was well-spoken of by the brothers…” Timothy was the son of a Christian mom and Greek (unbeliever) father. One thing to note about Timothy was (2 Tim 3:15) “…from childhood you have been acquainted with the sacred writings, which are able to make you wise for salvation through faith in Christ Jesus…” Timothy wasn’t perfect though. Over and over Paul tells Timothy “Do not be ashamed” of the gospel. Was Paul just reciting a mantra so he wouldn’t be ashamed of Jesus? No. (Romans 1: 16) “For I am not ashamed of the gospel, for it is the power of God for salvation…” So if Paul wasn’t ashamed, who was? Perhaps, it was Timothy. My model example of a good kid maybe wasn’t so perfect.

In all equations of parenting none equal perfect child.

1. Faithful prophet + years of obeying God = corrupt sons.

2. Faithful king + man after God’s heart = faithful son until later in his life when he turns from God.

3. Faithful Boat Builder + righteous + blameless = son that dishonored his father.

So how can we raise perfect kids? We can’t, and hopefully this has changed your minds because We Shouldn’t Want perfect kids! Our  desire should be for our kids to be Purified sinners. Our hope and prayers should focus on our kids meeting Jesus and then seeing how horrible they are and want Jesus to make them clean. Then the fruit of the Spirit will start to bloom. Then in spite of our parenting example and style they will become like Jesus. Not from anything we did, but because of the work of Christ living in them.

Checklist: How to Raise a Perfect Purified Child

1. Pray for them

2. Read them the Bible

3. Tell them about Jesus

4. Realize there was only One Parent that had the Perfect Child. God had Jesus.

4 responses

  1. Even our best parenting really is nothing without the work of the Holy Spirit in our children. We parent in faith. I enjoyed this! Thank you! I do hope to see that fruit! My daughter asked my a few months ago what I would want if I had just one wish. I don’t really care a thing about a bigger house, money, etc. I think every parent wants to see his children take the baton and run. I can die happy seeing my children as adults raising their children in the fear and admonition of the Lord. I have no greater joy! I would like to see, as you said, “purified sinners.” My work will be done! (My part in God’s work!) Thanks, Mel!

    1. Amen! I love that this is your heart and hope for your kids. Praying that your kids would be purified sinners.

  2. I love this post! You need to do more just like this!

    1. I needed to write it for me too! My children acted as if they were raised by wolves in front of a member of our church. I was so upset that they were so naughty and I thought this woman probably thinks how ineffective my parenting is. Then it hit me. Why do I care what she thinks? My only concern should be that I want my kids to be saved and my pray should be that they would become more like Jesus.

Leave a Reply

