What is Your Child’s Love Language?

Speaking the Foreign Language of Love

Most people are familiar with the book “The 5 Love Languages.” A lot of married couples recommend it to other couples. The basis is that everyone has a love language. It is one of 5 and you can have more than one.

Love Languages:

(1) quality time

(2) words of affirmation

(3) gifts

(4) acts of service

(5) physical touch.

You might have realized after you were married that most times we try to give our spouse our own love language. I would spend time with my hubby and give him gifts and serve him by making certain meals, etc. The problem was. Those weren’t his love languages. He appreciated them, but HIS love languages were: words of affirmation and physical touch. The problem when we only share our own language to someone is that they don’t feel as loved.

So that brings me to the question of: Do you know what your children’s love languages are? The authors that wrote 5 Love Languages wrote a book for children as well. It is easy for your husband or spouse to communicate that they aren’t feeling as loved, but for kids it isn’t that black and white. Your 5-year-old isn’t going to come up to you and say: “Mom, I really appreciate that you hug me all the time, but I really would rather you say encouraging words to me more often.” I think we are all aware of how different our kids are, but in an effort to make all things fair and just sometimes we miss out on speaking their language to them. My oldest son’s love languages are: Time and Gifts. My youngest son: Physical touch. My youngest loves to be held and hugged and snuggled. My oldest’s loves to get little surprise gifts and just to have one-on-one time. Does that mean I never hug my oldest? Heck no, I tackle him and give him a big hug as he is trying to escape it. It does mean that I am more aware and conscious of how I interact with him. I love this printable guide to children’s love languages and ideas how to love on them uniquely. http://www.busykidshappymom.org/2012/03/five-love-languages-printable-mom-guide.html.


2 responses

  1. Great post and link – very helpful! Good reminder that being “fair” doesn’t necessarily mean we treat our kids exactly the same but that we try to fully meet their individual needs equally 🙂

    1. It’s a hard thing to do too. Trying to show our kids we love them equally but uniquely. If you have any helpful tips let me know. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: