Lesson Learned on April Fool’s

I LOVE April Fool’s day. Love it. I’ve pulled lots of pranks on my family and friends over the years. But one year my prank didn’t go the way I thought it would. A few years ago my brother and I decided to fool our mom. My brother is in the Air Force stationed in California and we decided it would be fun to pretend that he was being deployed overseas for a year. So we ended the conversation and he called my mom. She called me and told me the news and I acted the part and said he had already told me. She seemed fine when we said our goodbyes after the phone call. About 15 minutes later she calls me back. She proceeds to tell me that she just booked a flight to California to visit my brother before he was deployed to go say goodbye. My heart sunk. You did what? She said she was leaving in an hour and a friend was driving her to the airport. What a clever woman, the prank got thrown back at my face. The apple doesn’t fall far from the tree. I laughed. She didn’t. What was so funny she asked. I asked her what day it was and she acted confused. I said it was April Fool’s day. Silence on the other end of the phone. I thought the connection was lost. Nope. And then came the scolding. Man, I got it. She not only booked a flight, she had sent an email to her church to send out a prayer request for her son’s deployment. I was speechless. After we ended the call I called my brother and scolded him. I said you were supposed to tell her it was a joke. He said I didn’t think she’d actually do anything about it. My mom hopped on a flight to CA and since she didn’t pack much for lack of time my brother had to buy her a bunch of outfits. April Fool’s joke gone wrong. Lesson Learned. Well….maybe not. 🙂

IMG_2759

Leave a Reply

