Must Read Monday: Doodling Dragons

Doodling Dragons is my new favorite book. I’m beginning the process of teaching my 3.5-year-old to read by simply reading to him because that is step 1. This book is written by Denise Eide who developed The Logic of English curriculum that parents and schools use. It teaches reading/spelling by learning how to sound words out, not by memorizing them. This is very important to me because I learned to read by memorizing. Now as an adult I still struggle with reading and spelling. It doesn’t help that I’m dsylxeic (yes, I meant to spell that wrong on purpose) as well. So I want the best start for my sons to learn to read the right way. This book is one of those books that helps that. Couldn’t be happier that I get to learn to read along with them. 🙂

Doodling Dragons: An ABC Book of Sounds

Click image to see additional details at amazon.com

Leave a Reply

