Kick the Fish

Kick the Fish is a modified game that originated in Asia. The original game is called Kick the Bird. The bird is made out of a sock or other material and decorated with feathers. The object of the game is to keep the bird in the air. It is similar to American hacky sack. You can only use your feet or head to hit it. I made the fish out of an old slipper sock. I turned it inside out and filled it with rice (or you could use beans). Then, tied a knot. I cut the end to be more decorative. I used felt and tacky glue to attach the eyes and fins. Sharpie markers filled in the detail. I decided to make a fish instead of a bird for two reasons. First, I felt better about kicking a fish than a bird. Secondly, I didn’t have any feathers.

4 responses

  1. Love this idea! I have to try this!

    1. My 3 year old son thought it was a hoot! 🙂

  2. Ooohh! I love this idea…something that my boys can kick inside the house without getting into trouble!

    1. Only a great mom is excited about finding something for her boys to kick and play with!

Leave a Reply

